Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation, with penalties that exponentially increase based on the severity of the DUI infraction. While a majority of DUIs are alcohol related, Arizona defines a DUI as operating a vehicle while mentally or physically impaired by alcohol, or drugs. The following is an overview of Arizona’s DUI Laws as they relate to drinking and driving.
What is the Alcohol Limit for a DUI in Tucson Arizona?
Technically, the blood alcohol limit in Arizona is 0.08%. But, according to Arizona state law, you can still be charged with driving while “impaired to the slightest degree” if you are below 0.08%. So, if you’re pulled over, and pass the breathalyzer test, the state can still find you guilty of DUI if they can prove that you were impaired by using field sobriety tests, and/or statements you make.
Minimum DUI Penalties in Tucson Arizona
If you are convicted of any DUI in Arizona, including “driving while impaired to the slightest degree”, your minimum penalty will include 24 hours in jail, and fines that amount to about $2,000. But, those aren’t even the worst of the penalties you’ll face. Arizona also requires the following for those convicted of DUI:
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device on your car for one year
- A 90-day suspension of your license
- At least 16 hours of alcohol education
In addition, there are other minimum penalties, like a Mothers Against Drunk Driving (“MADD”) Victim Impact Panel which is a one-time two hour session—which we think is pretty useful for most people– and sometimes judges add a 12-month term of unsupervised probation on top of it all.
Extreme DUIs and Super Extreme DUIs
Almost a decade ago, Arizona changed the law to make it tougher on people who are really drunk. Now the law says that if you are at or over a .15 blood or breath alcohol concentration, you get an “extreme dui”, and if you a .20 BAC or higher you get what they call a “super extreme DUI”. Of course, the penalties for both of these are much more severe than for lesser offenses.
- 30 Days in jail for an extreme DUI; 45 days for a super extreme DUI
- An ignition interlock device on your car for 18 months
- Impound of car for 30 days
- Fines and penalties totaling around $3,000
Aside from the minimum penalties outlined above, there are additional ways a DUI can hurt your career and future.
Michael has particular experience representing University students in DUI matters. In Arizona, in addition to DUI charges, any person under the age of 21 who is caught driving with any amount of alcohol in his or her body is going to be charged with a separate offense. Click here to learn more about underage DUI.
Over the past 10 years I’ve continually helped professionals save their careers and lives from the ongoing devastation DUI charges can cause. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in the state of Arizona, take a look at our results, and contact us for a 30 minute case consultation, at 520-624-3500.