Criminal Speeding

Most speeding citations in Arizona are civil violations. However, when drivers are found driving at what the law considers an “excessive” speed, they might be cited with the more serious misdemeanor crime, criminal speeding.

What constitutes criminal speeding in Arizona?

Arizona Revised Statutes 28-701.02 provides the rules for criminal speeding violations in the state. Any of the following may be cause for a law enforcement officer to cite a driver with criminal speeding:

  • driving more than 20 miles over the speed limit in a business or residential area;
  • exceeding 35 mph when approaching a school crossing;
  • driving over 45 mph in a business or residential area where no sign is posted; or
  • driving in excess of 85 mph in other areas.

Potential Consequences for Criminal Speeding Convictions

Criminal speeding is a class 3 misdemeanor in Arizona. Possible consequences for convictions include:

  • up to 30 days in jail;
  • up to a $500 fine;
  • three points on your license (13 points in a one-year period means a license suspension);
  • increase insurance premiums;
  • probation;
  • community service;
  • having your vehicle impounded (and you’ll need to foot the bill to retrieve your car); and
  • an order to attend traffic school.

It’s important to understand that criminal speeding is not a simple traffic violation. It’s a misdemeanor crime that will forever remain on your record if you’re convicted. Getting charged and convicted of a criminal speeding offense is not only costly and inconvenient, but it could affect your job and employability. This is why it’s essential to discuss your case with an attorney and determine how best to handle the charges.

Defense Attorney Michael Harwin Can Help You Fight Charges

Defense attorney Michael Harwin is former prosecutor; he knows how prosecutors handle criminal speeding charges and what moves they will make. He plans accordingly and works to build a strong defense against their tactics.

Michael is sensitive to the impact a criminal charge will have on your record. Contact us today to schedule a consultation at 520-624-3500.